Saints dominate Bloemfontein schools debating

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consetetur sadipscing elitr

Saints dominate Bloemfontein schools debating

Filed in:

22 August 2016 – It was a safe bet that Saint Andrew’s would claim the honours in the senior section of the South African Council of English Education (SACEE) debating finals, which were held on Friday. That’s not an arrogant statement. The truth is, simply, that Saints A had qualified to face Saints B for the senior title in the inter-schools league!

The event, which was run at Saints in conjunction with the final of the junior competition, brought the curtain down on a very successful debating season for Saint Andrew’s under the coaching of Old Andrean Janco Olivier.

While pleased with the school’s domination of the local school’s league, Janco said afterwards he has high ambitions for Saints and would like to lift the school from being a regional debating powerhouse to that of a national powerhouse.

The All-Saints senior final was a fun affair, with a fair measure of humour utilised in the arguments as the A team of Tshiamo Malatji, Leonard Chuang and Taahir Solomon took on the B team of Thato Mosohli, Imraan Matthews and Malcom Ghigawa, debating the subject “that it is morally acceptable for celebrities to use their star power to support oppressive regimes”.

Thato Mosohli

Thato Mosohli helped Saints B topple Saints A in the final of the SACEE Debating League

In the junior final, the subject debated between Saint Andrew’s and Saint Michael’s was “the media does not have the right to release the details of mental illnesses in criminals”, with St Michael’s edging Saints for the honours.

At the prize-giving, Leonard Chuang presented former Deputy Principal of Eunice, Miss Norine van Arkel, with flowers to thank her for her service as Chairlady of the SACEE for the past decade, during which she ran the local SACEE Debating League.

Saints also did their bit to help the development of debating in Bloemfontein by hosting a tournament on Friday and Saturday.

The honours in the senior section went the way of Welkom High, which defeated a HTS Louis Botha team that was assisted by Saints’ pupils Almand van den Heever and Ethan Matthee in the final. Brebner claimed the title in the junior section.

SaintsAdmin August 22, 2016
Comments are off